SBC President Bart Barber names Committee on Committees, appoints Virginia pastor Adam Blosser as chair

FARMERSVILLE, Texas (BP) – SBC President Bart Barber has announced his appointments to the 2024 Committee on Committees. Adam Blosser, pastor of Goshen Baptist Church in Spotsylvania, Va., will lead the committee as chair, and Elizabeth Graham from First Baptist Church, Concord, Tenn., will serve as vice chair.

“I am honored to have been appointed by President Bart Barber to serve as this year’s chair of the Committee on Committees,” Blosser told Baptist Press. “Each year at our annual meeting, the Committee on Committees plays a crucial role in recommending the Committee on Nominations who, once elected, will then nominate at the next annual meeting a slate of faithful Southern Baptists to fill vacant trustee positions at each of our entities.”

Barber is serving in his second term as SBC president. The announcement comes in accordance with SBC Bylaw 19, which calls for providing notice to Southern Baptists of the appointees at least 45 days in advance of the Annual Meeting. The committee is composed of 68 members, two from each of the 34 states and regions qualified for representation.  

“I am always thankful when Southern Baptists encounter an opportunity to serve and say, ‘Yes!’” Barber said. “The Southern Baptist Convention is a volunteer-driven organization, and these brothers and sisters exemplify the servant-hearted spirit that keeps our cooperative work moving forward.”

The Committee on Committees is tasked with nominating members to serve on the 2024-2025 Committee on Nominations. The committee will meet over the next six weeks to prepare its report to the Convention.

Blosser values the role the committee members play in the Convention.

“The Conservative Resurgence taught us the far-reaching impact of the Committee on Committees of the Southern Baptist Convention,” Blosser said. “I am excited to work with the committee appointed by President Barber to deliver to the convention a slate of nominees for the Committee on Nominations who believe and uphold the Baptist Faith and Message and are committed to furthering our cooperative work as Great Commission Baptists to the ends of the earth.”

Blosser is scheduled to present the committee’s slate of nominees to messengers during the Tuesday morning session of the 2024 SBC Annual Meeting.  The committee’s report will be published in the Tuesday Bulletin.

The roster includes 15 women (22 percent) and 11 percent non-Anglo nominees. The average church size of nominees is 375 members with an average Cooperative Program giving rate of 5.6 percent.

The members of the committee are:


Buddy Champion, First Baptist, Trussville; Brad Doss, Perdido Baptist, Perdido


Phillip Coleman, True North, Anchorage; Polly Rowell, First Baptist, Palmer


Marti Mitchell, Pinal County Cowboy, Casa Grande; Chris Boggus, Happy Valley Baptist, Glendale


Nathan Miller, Pleasant Grove Baptist, Conway; Harrison Noe, Brown’s Chapel, Paragould


Jocelyn Navarro, Solid Rock, Claremont; David Yi, New Vision, Milpitas


John Howeth, Cornerstone Baptist, Windsor; Josh Hargett, First Southern Baptist, Colorado Springs


Amy Anderson, The Hub City, Crestview; Lito Lucas, Philippine International, Lakeland


Jacob Stewart, First Baptist, Bremen; Dallas White, The Grove, Acworth


Yuko Nemoto, Kahului Union, Kahului; Bob Gierhart, Nu’uanu Baptist, Honolulu


Alyssa Caudill, First Baptist, Carmi; Mark Emerson, Western Oaks Baptist, Springfield


Autumn Wall, Living Faith, Indianapolis; Mitch Tabla, Valparaiso Baptist, Valparaiso


David Crook, First Southern Baptist, El Dorado (KS); Jason Huebner, Twelfth Avenue Baptist, Emporia (KS)


Sara Robinson, Eastpoint Community, Louisville; Charles Frazier, Zion’s Cause Baptist, Benton


James Pritchard, First Baptist, Lafayette; Shane Terrebone, Gulf Coast Baptist, Golden Meadow


Thuam Cin Khai, Siyin Chin Baptist, Laurel (MD); Mark Lashey, Lifehouse, Townsend (DE)


Odelle Caldwell, Temple of Faith, Detroit; Jay Anderson, CrossPointe, Monroe


Brandon Lynch, Pleasant Hill Baptist, Bogue Chitto; Jonathan Greer, Franklin Creek Baptist, Moss Point


Chad Hodges, Canaan Baptist, St Louis; Shayla Hale, Ridgecrest Baptist, Springfield


David Fee, Summerlin Community, Las Vegas; Steve Witt, The Well, Henderson

New England

Allyson Clark, The Church on Seven Hills, Worcester (MA); Chap Bettis, Grace Harbor Baptist, Providence (RI)

New Mexico

Stephen Baum, First Baptist West, Albuquerquee; Joshua Dancer, Bethel Baptist, Alamogordo

New York

Milton Kornegay, Central Baptist, Syracuse; Michael Rubino, Cornerstone Bible, Port Jefferson Station

North Carolina

Dave Cline, Lea Bethel Baptist, Prospect Hill; Lee Callicutt, Grace Hill, Pittsboro


Diane Hanay, Highland Baptist, Redmond (OR); Ricardo Barber, One Hope Fellowship, Portland (OR)


Jonathan Howard, Bridge City, Cincinnati; James Kerr, Clough Pike Baptist, Cincinnati


Nathan Pressley, First Baptist, Newcastle; Trey Graham, First Baptist, Midwest City

Pennsylvania-South Jersey

Daniel McCrosky, Expressway Baptist, Freeport; Ryan Day, Wrightsdale Baptist, Peach Bottom (PA)

South Carolina

Michael Bryant, Northwood Baptist, North Charleston; Brad Vassey, Hillcrest Baptist, York


Joe Delph, First Baptist, Athens; Elizabeth Graham, First Baptist, Concord


Wes Hinote, Old River Baptist, Old River-Winfree; Aaron Scarbrough, Graceview Baptist, Burleson


Troy Walker, Mosaic, Provo (UT); Kay Piper, Water’s Edge Fellowship, Burley (ID)


Adam Blosser, chair, Goshen Baptist, Spotsylvania; Melissa Futrell, Parkway Baptist, Moseley

West Virginia

Seth Polk, Cross Lanes Baptist, Cross Lanes; Cassie Eubank, Witcher Baptist, Belle


Matt Maestas, Laramie Valley Chapel, Laramie; Tyler Martin, Outfitter, Casper

The post SBC President Bart Barber names Committee on Committees, appoints Virginia pastor Adam Blosser as chair appeared first on Biblical Recorder.