Second run-off called for in SBC president’s race

INDIANAPOLIS (BP) – A second run-off in the election of a new Southern Baptist Convention (SBC) president was held this morning (June 12) in a race that began with six candidates.

The two candidates in the final round are Dan Spencer, senior pastor of First Baptist Church, Sevierville, Tennessee, and Clint Pressley, senior pastor, Hickory Grove Baptist Church, Charlotte, North Carolina. The results are pending and will be announced later today.

Messengers voted immediately following the announcement of the first run-off.

Don Currence, registration secretary, announced the results of Tuesday evening’s (June 11) three-way run-off election during the morning session (June 12) and explained that a second run-off was required. A run-off is needed when a candidate does not garner fifty percent of the vote.

Of the 8,537 votes cast, 30 were disallowed.

The results of the Tuesday evening (June 11) first runoff are:

  • Dan Spencer received 2,600 votes (30.46 percent )
  • Clint Pressley received 3,330 votes (39.01 percent)
  • David Allen received 2,577 votes (30.19 percent)

SBC presidential candidates Jared Moore, senior pastor, Cumberland Homesteads Baptist Church, Crossville, Tenn., Bruce Frank, lead pastor of Biltmore Baptist Church, Asheville, N.C. and Mike Keahbone, senior pastor, First Baptist Church, Lawton, Oklahoma were eliminated in the first ballot Tuesday evening (June 11).

The post Second run-off called for in SBC president’s race appeared first on Biblical Recorder.